商品情報にスキップ
1 4

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

Julia Sarcone-Roach SKU: 9781984852090
通常価格 $8.00
通常価格 $9.00 セール価格 $8.00
セール 売り切れ

在庫あり

詳細を表示する

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich


Julia Sarcone-Roach
Date: December 11, 2018
9781984852090, 1984852094
Trade Paperback
Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Bears
Juvenile Fiction / Humorous Stories
Juvenile Fiction / Lifestyles / City & Town Life
Ages 3 to 7, Grades P to 2
40 pages
Dimensions (cm): 21.08 x 27.43  x 0.51
Weight (kg): 0.18

Summary

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . An irresistible treat for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.

By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .

So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it’s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.

The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach’s best book to date. You’ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

Praise for The Bear Ate Your Sandwich:

***Winner of an Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Honor Award!***

"This story is mischief-making at its finest. And just like a good sandwich, it's hard to resist." - Book Page

"Charming" — The Wall Street Journal

"While the bear storyline is entertaining in itself, the ending twist will equally delight kids who love to spot untruths, and a second reading for hints as to the narrator’s credibility may well be in order." — The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, Starred review


Contributor Bio(s)

After attending the Rhode Island School of Design, JULIA SARCONE-ROACH made her Knopf picture-book debut with The Secret Plan, and followed it up with the highly praised Subway Story. She is also the creator of animated videos, including Call of the Wild, which was featured in indie film festivals and won several prizes. Julia lives in Brooklyn, NY. You can find her on the Web at jsarconeroach.com.

Key Points

Now in paperback!
A New York Times bestseller and 2016 Jumpstart pick
A fish-out-of-water story--kids will delight in seeing how a bear navigates his way through a city.
A surprise ending--children will completely relate to a dog who makes up an outlandish story to get himself out of trouble...
The sly humor and the unreliable narrator will appeal to fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.
Bright, lavish, playful artwork make this story come to life.
Look for a new picture book from Julia Sarcone-Roach featuring a hungry bear and a smooth-talking narrator in January 2019!


Quotes/Reviews

"This enjoyable romp is sure to elicit giggles... Young readers and listeners will laugh out loud as they closely examine the pictures and find the jokes in this highly interactive urban adventure." - Kirkus Reviews

"To her credit, the question of the narrator’s identity—and reliability—may not come up for readers until book’s end. If they do wonder, the diverting story and illustrations help to keep it a surprise. After the bear returns to the forest, the silver-tongued narrator’s subterfuge quickly falls apart, and the truth is unleashed (“Ruff! Ruff! Ruff! Ruff! Ruff!”). The book stands up to repeat readings; the illustrations (and endpapers) beg for more attention." - Horn Book, Starred review

"Lush, color-drenched paintings..." "charming" - Wall Street Journal

"This story is mischief-making at its finest. And just like a good sandwich, it's hard to resist." - Book Page

"While the bear storyline is entertaining in itself, the ending twist will equally delight kids who love to spot untruths, and a second reading for hints as to the narrator’s credibility may well be in order."
— The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, Starred review

"The illustrations in this book are terrific: color-drenched and bold slashes that cover the pages." -- School Library Journal, Starred review

Shipping Policy

MakoStars will normally send an order the next business day after confirmation of payment. We do not ship on Saturdays, Sundays, national holidays, New Year holidays and our company holidays.

We will send the products to the address you indicated on the order form. In some cases, orders placed before 11:00 a.m. on weekdays will be shipped on the same day. However, if the product is out of stock after the order is placed, it will take a little longer. In that case, we will notify you by e-mail.

Please note that orders may be canceled for the following reasons, regardless of the indication.
  • When there is stain or damage on the product.
  • When the number of orders exceeds the inventory of the product.
  • For other reasons not listed above.
  • MakoStars will use Japan Post Office or Yamato Transport to ship domestic orders. Unfortunately, we cannot provide a guaranteed delivery date due to factors beyond our control, including but not limited to: weather conditions, traffic conditions, service conditions of our transportation partners, etc...

We currently do not offer next-day shipping service.

International Shipping
We provide international shipping on a case-by-case basis. Please send us details and your request to: info@makostars.com